BC Games Latest News

New Members named to BC Games Society Board

Author: BC Games Society/Wednesday, April 17, 2019/Categories: Front Page, 2019 News

New Members named to BC Games Society Board
Victoria – The BC Games Society announced today the appointment of five new members to the Board of Directors.  The new members include Paralympian Richard Peter (Vancouver), Mental Performance Consultant Veronica Planella (Victoria), educator and coach, Pansy Wright-Simms (Hazelton), multi-sport games leader, Wayne Naka (Nelson), and volunteer, coach and esteemed athlete Charles Bruce (Kamloops).  

“I’d like to congratulate the BC Games Society on these new board appointments,” said Lisa Beare, Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture. “I know their leadership and experience will be instrumental in helping the Society achieve its vision and goals and supporting B.C.’s young athletes as they strive for excellence.”

The new members of the board are joined by current board members Chair Jamey Paterson (Langley), Olympians Pamela Rai (Nanaimo) and Simon Whitfield (Victoria), Breeanne Parisien (Elkford), Laura Watson (Port Moody), Michelle Webster (Kelowna), and Sarah Zimmerman (Terrace).  Continuing with the board is Chris Graham who will sit as an ex-officio representative of the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture.

“I am very excited to lead this talented group of Directors and to work together with staff to continue to build a strong organization supporting the development of participants, volunteers, and communities,” said Jamey Paterson, BC Games Society Chair.

Paterson has been the Chair of the BC Games Society Board of Directors since 2017. 

“It is an honour to welcome these new board members to the BC Games Society. Each will contribute their wide range of expertise to build upon past success and move the organization forward,” said Alison Noble, President and CEO of the BC Games Society.  

The BC Games Society is the leadership organization that guides the BC Winter and BC Summer Games and prepares Team BC for national multi-sport games.  The 14-member board is appointed by the Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture and is responsible for setting policy and direction to ensure the objectives of the Society are met.

BC Games Society Board of Directors

Jamey Paterson, Chair, Langley
Charles Bruce, Kamloops
Chris Graham, Victoria
Jim Martin, Prince George
Wayne Naka, Nelson
Pamela Rai, Nanaimo
Breeanne Parisien, Elkford
Richard Peter, Vancouver
Veronica Planella, Victoria
Laura Watson, Port Moody
Michelle Webster, Kelowna
Simon Whitfield, Victoria
Pansy Wright-Simms, Hazelton
Sarah Zimmerman, Terrace 

Link to biographies of the Board of Directors


Number of views (1220)/Comments (0)

Theme picker