BC Games Latest News

25 Alumni nominated for Athlete of the Year Awards

Author: BC Games Society/Friday, January 11, 2013/Categories: 2013 News, Alumni

25 Alumni nominated for Athlete of the Year Awards

Congratulations to the 25 BC Games alumni nominated for the 2012 Athlete of the Year Awards.

The awards ceremony and gala dinner, set for March 7, 2013 at the River Rock Show Theatre in Richmond BC, recognizes BC’s best amateur athletes, coaches, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport over the 2012 season. Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial Sport Organization, high school or university, and selected by a committee of BC sportswriters, broadcasters, athletes and amateur sport experts.

Listed here are the BC Games alumni nominated in the various categories.  Click here for the full release and list of nominees.

Athlete with a Disability
Josh Dueck (Vernon, BC) – Alpine Ski   (2004 Port Alberni, 2006 Greater Trail)
Trevor Hirschfield (Vancouver, BC) – Wheelchair Rugby (2002 Nanaimo)
Michelle Stilwell (Parksville, BC) – Wheelchair Athletics (2006 Greater Trail)

Coach of the Year
Peter Lawless (Victoria, BC) – Wheelchair Sports (2000 Victoria, 2002 Nanaimo, 2004 Abbotsford, 2006 Kamloops)

College Athlete of the Year
Jenna Ralston (Mission, BC) – Basketball (2002 Nanaimo - athlete, 2006 Kamloops - coach)

High School Female Athlete of the Year
Maddie Secco (Victoria, BC) – Field Hockey, Soccer, Cross Country and Track & Field (2008 Kelowna, 2006 Kamloops)
Chelsea Strandlund (Victoria, BC) – Volleyball, Soccer, Basketball, Softball (2008 Kelowna)

High School Male Athlete of the Year
Braxton Bunce (Kelowna, BC) – Basketball (2008 Kelowna)
Fergus Hall (Victoria, BC) – Rugby, Soccer (2008 Kelowna)

Junior Female Athlete of the Year
Julia Ransom (Kelowna, BC) – Biathlon (2008 Kimberley Cranbrook)

Master Athlete of the Year
Sandra Hewson (Surrey, BC) – Judo (2010 Terrace - official, 2008 Kimberley Cranbrook - manager)

Official of the Year
Terry Mosdell (Surrey, BC) – Lacrosse (2002 Nanaimo - coach, 2008 Kelowna - official, 2010 Langley – official)

Senior Male Athlete of the Year
Ryder Hesjedal (Victoria, BC) – Cycling (1995 Penticton)
Denny Morrison (Fort St. John, BC) – Speed Skating (2000 Quesnel)

University Athlete of the Year

Ben Ball (Abbotsford, BC) – Volleyball (2004 Abbotsford)
Kyla Richey (Vancouver, BC) – Volleyball (2004 Abbotsford)

Team of the Year
Penticton Vees (Penticton, BC) – Hockey
Wade Murphy – 2008 Kinberley Cranbrook
Logan Johnston – 2006 Greater Trail, 2006 Kamloops
Nick Buchanan – 2006 Greater Trail
Kyle Beaulieu - 2006 Greater Trail

TWU Men’s Volleyball Team (Abbotsford, BC)
Ben Ball - 2004 Abbotsford
Marc Howatson – 2010 Langley (assitant coach)
Dan Jansen Van Doorn – 2006 Kamloops
Tyler Koslowsky – 2008 Kelowna

UBC Women’s Swim Team (Vancouver, BC) – Swimming
Hayley Pipher – 2004 Abbotsford


Number of views (3153)/Comments (0)

Theme picker