Film Izle
BC Games Latest News

Finalists announced for 49th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards

Author: BC Games Society/Friday, January 16, 2015/Categories: 2015 News, Alumni

Finalists announced for 49th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards
12 BC Games alumni are among the finalists for the 49th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards to be presented at the ceremony on March 12, 2015.


News Release from Sport BC

Sport BC, on behalf of the BC Sport community, announced today the outstanding amateur athletes, coaches, and officials named as finalists for 13 of the 17 award categories to be presented at the upcoming Athlete of the Year Awards, founded by Sport BC.

The 49th Annual Awards Ceremony and Gala dinner is set for Thursday, March 12th, 2015 at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, which will recognize BC’s best amateur athletes, coaches, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport over the 2014 season. Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial or Multi-Sport Organization, High School, College or University in which followed a Selection Committee, chaired by Bernie Pascall and 15 highly regarded BC sportswriters, broadcasters, and amateur sport leaders.

“A significant number of very strong nominations for received this year,” notes Sport BC President & CEO, Rob Newman. “The Athlete of the Year Awards provides a great opportunity to recognize these talented and deserving athletes, coaches and officials. In 2013, partnered with ProMOTION Plus in adding the Female Coach of the Year Award category, ensuring that we continue to strive for gender equity in sport and encourage girls and women to take on strong leadership roles in our community. This year’s nominees in all of the award categories are certainly a testament to the strength and depth of sport in our province. So too is the amazing support that we have received this year from our sport and business partners.”

Sport BC is pleased to announce the Finalists for the 49th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards representing 21 sports and 24 various cities include:

Athlete with a Disability
Josh Dueck (Vernon) –Para-Alpine (2004 and 2006 BC Winter Games)
Lauren Barwick (Aldergrove) – Para-Equestrian
Ina Forrest (Armstrong)- Para-Curl

Female Coach of the Year
Joanne McLeod (Burnaby)- Figure Skate
Tara Self (Coquitlam)- Athletics
Tammy Thomas (Kelowna)- Volleyball )2002 BC Summer Games, 2002 BC Winter Games and 2012 BC Summer Games)

Male Coach of the Year
Paul Eberhardt (Vancouver)- Basketball (1992 BC Summer Games)
Randy Bennett (Victoria)- Swim
Marek Jedrzejek (Vancouver)- Athletics

Female High School Athlete of the Year
Payton Smith (Maple Ridge)- Wrestling
Nina Schultz (New Westminster)- Athletics (2012 BC Summer Games)
Christine Howlett (Delta)- Volleyball/Basketball (2008 BC Summer Games)

Male High School Athlete of the Year
Nathan Wadhwani (Maple Ridge)- Cross-Country/Track & Field
Adam Lambert (Mission)- Athletics
Jordan Lu (Vancouver)- Golf (2010 BC Summer Games)

Female Junior Athlete of the Year
Emily Overholt (West Vancouver)- Swimming (2010 BC Summer Games)
Naomi Ko (Victoria)- Golf
Maggie Coles-Lyster (Maple Ridge)- Cycling

Male Junior Athlete of the Year
Samson Reinhart (Saanichton)- Ice Hockey
Dylan French (Richmond)- Fencing
Alex Tougas (Pitt Meadows)- Cycling

Master Athlete of the Year
Al Campsall (Williams Lake)- Archery
Doug Roxburgh (Vancouver)- Golf
Brian Ellis (Vancouver)- Orienteering

Official of the Year
Howard Hum (Burnaby)- Volleyball 1992-1995 BC Summer Games
Steve Seibel (Kamloops)- Basketball
John Carroll (Surrey)- Gymnastics 1992, 1993, 2002, 2004, 2012, 2014 BC Games

Female Senior Athlete of the Year
Janet McLachlan (West Vancouver)- Wheelchair Basketball
Marielle Thompson (Whistler)- Ski-Cross
Jessica Hewitt (Kamloops)- Speed-Skating

Male Senior Athlete of the Year
Tory Nyhaug (Coquitlam)- Cycling
Shea Weber (Saanichton)- Ice Hockey
Denny Morrison (Fort St. John)- Speed-Skating (2000 BC Winter Games)

Team of the Year
Men’s Langara Basketball (Vancouver)
McNamara (Vancouver)- Beach Volleyball (2010 BC Summer Games)
Canadian Team Pursuit – Cycling

University Athlete of the Year
Coleman Allen (Vancouver)- Swim
Lisa Barclay (Vancouver)- Volleyball
Brad Gunter (Courtenay)- Volleyball (2008 BC Summer Games)

An additional four awards will be presented at the ceremony including Best of BC, Community Champion, Harry Jerome Comeback and the Daryl Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award.
About the Athlete of the Year Awards The Athlete of the Year Awards, founded by Sport BC, is the longest standing sport recognition event in the country. Awards in 17 different categories are given each year to athletes, coaches, and officials on their performance and contribution to sport in our province. The awards play a valuable role in nurturing athletic success and recognizing some of BC’s growing talents.

Number of views (3121)/Comments (0)





Arif V 216 Izle deadpool 2 izle Ailecek Saskiniz Izle Kirlangi�lar ve amazonlar izle insanciklar izle incontrol izle the maus izle pearl harbor izle savas�i kurt 2 izle tulip fever izle talaash t�rk�e dublaj izle karanlik sir izle c�ce dedektif serlok izle inanilmaz aile 2 izle karimi g�rd�n�z m� izle kader ajanlari izle superstar izle 7 mezar muhafizi izle �l�ml� D�nya Izle D�md�z Adam Izle �� Harfliler BEDDUA Izle OCEAN�S 8 Izle Tam Cam Efsanesi Izle Patronlara Tuzak izle Dua Et Kardesiz Izle Los Angeles'ta Gizli G�rev izle karanlik sir izle Phoenix'te Unutulan izle savasci kurt 2 izle Enes Batur Hayal Mi Gercek Mi izle Gorevimiz Tehlike Yansimalar izle Aile Arasinda izle bizim koyun sarkisi izle