19 BC Games and Team BC alumni chosen as finalists for Athlete of the Year Awards

19 BC Games and Team BC alumni chosen as finalists for Athlete of the Year Awards

Author: BC Games Society/Monday, March 5, 2018/Categories: Front Page, 2018 News, Alumni

Rate this article:
No rating

Sport BC, on behalf of the BC Sport community, has proudly announced the outstanding amateur athletes, coaches, and officials, named as finalists for 14 of the 18 award categories to be presented at the upcoming Athlete of the Year Awards. We are proud to be the longest standing sport recognition event in Canada and this year signifies a historic achievement for sport with our 52nd anniversary.

The 52nd Annual Awards Ceremony and Gala dinner is set for Wednesday, March 28, 2018 at the Westin Bayshore Vancouver Hotel. The ceremonies will recognize BC’s best in amateur sport including athletes, coaches, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport over the 2017 season. Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial or Multi-Sport Organization, High School, College or University. The Selection Committee, chaired by Bernie Pascall, included 16 highly regarded sportswriters, broadcasters, and amateur sport leaders in British Columbia.

“Each year the Athlete of the Year Awards selection committee reviews all nominations and recognizes the talented and deserving athletes, coaches and officials”, notes President & CEO of Sport BC, Rob Newman.

“The nominees for the 2018 Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards represent 23 sports and 29 various cities who are all representative of the strength and depth of sport development in our province over the last 52 years. Each year, we are grateful for the support and contribution of our sport and business partners and volunteers.”

An additional four awards will be presented at the ceremony including the Best of BC, KidSport BC Community Champion, Harry Jerome Comeback and the Daryl Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award.

Athlete with a Disability
Tomas Bourassa (Delta) – Wheelchair Tennis
Tristen Chernove (Cranbrook) – Para-Cycling
Liam Stanley (Victoria) – Para-Athletics

College Athlete of the Year

Shun Takano (Vancouver Island University) – Soccer
Rachel Beauchamp (Douglas College) – Basketball (2010 and 2014 BC Summer Games)
Megan Rosenlund (Vancouver Island University) - Volleyball

Female Coach of the Year

Tara Self (Coquitlam) – Athletics
Tina Hoeben (Penticton) – Swim (2012 BC Summer Games & 2017 Canada Summer Games)
Carmen Murray (Elkford) - Curl

Male Coach of the Year

Steven Manley (Vancouver) – Wheelchair Tennis
Barry Lyster (Maple Ridge) – Cycling (1996 BC Winter Games)
Garrett Collier (Delta) - Athletics (1993 and 1994 BC Summer Games & 1997 2001 Canada Summer Games)

Female High School Athlete of the Year

Jacqueline Lew (Pinetree) – Wrestling (2014 BC Summer Games & 2017 Canada Summer Games)
Dakota Chan (McMath) – Multi-Sport (2012 BC Summer Games)

Katarina Vlanovic (Fraser Heights) - Athletics

Male High School Athlete of the Year

Ryan Baker (Windsor) – Football & Baseball
Brodie Hofer (Langley Christian) – Volleyball  (2016 BC Summer Games, 2017 Canada Summer Games)
Michael Dowhaniuk (Semiahmoo) - Volleyball

Female Junior Athlete of the Year
Sarah Potomak (Aldergrove) – Ice Hockey (2012 BC Winter Games &2015 Canada Winter Games)
Desirae Ridenour (Cowichan Bay) - Triathlon (2014 BC Summer Games & 2017 Canada Summer Games)

Maggie Coles-Lyster (Maple Ridge) - Cycling

Male Junior Athlete of the Year

Mathew Barzal (Coquitlam) – Ice Hockey
Anastas Eliopoulos (Vancouver) – Athletics (2014 BC Summer Games)
Tyler Tardi (Surrey) - Curl (2012, 2014 BC Winter Games & 2015 Canada Winter Games)

Female Senior Athlete of the Year

Shallon Olsen (Surrey) – Gymnastics (2011 and 2015 Canada Winter Games)
Heather Wurtele (Kelowna) – Triathlon
Marielle Thompson (Whistler) – Alpine Ski

Male Senior Athlete of the Year

Yuri Kisil (Calgary) – Swim
Adam Hadwin (Abbotsford) – Golf
Michael Mason (Nanoose Bay) - Athletics (2000 BC Summer Games and 2005 Canada Summer Games)

Master Athlete of the Year

Glenn Carlsen (Okanagan Falls) – Swim
Siew Har Hong (North Vancouver) – Badminton (2000 BC Winter Games)
Christa Bortignon (West Vancouver) - Athletics

Team of the Year

UBC Men’s Track & Field (UBC) – Athletics
Team Tardi (Surrey) – Curl (BC Games and Team BC Alumni)
UBC Women’s Volleyball (UBC) - Volleyball

University Athlete of the Year

Mallory Velte (SFU) – Wrestling
Danielle Brisebois (UBC) – Volleyball (2013 Canada Summer Games)
Adam Jones (SFU) - Soccer (2006 BC Summer Games)

Official of the Year

Scott McLaren (Penticton) – Softball (1991 and 1997 BC Summer Games)
Andrew Armstrong (White Rock) – Triathlon (2012 and 2016 BC Summer Games)
Andree Montreuil (Vancouver) - Gymnastics (2004-216 BC Winter Games)

Number of views (3779)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker