BC Games Alumni Recognized at the 2019 Premier’s Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport

BC Games Alumni Recognized at the 2019 Premier’s Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport

Author: BC Games Society/Thursday, November 28, 2019/Categories: Front Page, News, 2019 News, Sport System, Partners

Rate this article:
No rating

The 2019 Premier’s Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport recognized 36 recipients during the month of October and November. The Province of British Columbia and the Indigenous Sport, Physical Activity & Recreation Council (I·SPARC) established the Premier’s Awards to celebrate the outstanding achievements of Indigenous youth athletes throughout the province who have achieved excellence in sport and demonstrate leadership qualities.

Among the recipients were 10 BC Games alumni:

·         Connor Kaboni, Lacrosse, Nipissing First Nation

·         Kanani Coon, Basketball, Enoch Cree Nation

·         Emma Guertin, Trampoline Gymnastics, Sprint Kayak, Métis Nation BC

·         Grace Currie, Swimming, Softball, Métis Nation BC

·         Tessa Sturgeon, Hockey, Softball, Métis Nation BC

·         Corey Cunningham, Hockey, Métis Nation BC

·         Chelsei Gray, Canoe, Kayak, Scowlitz First Nation

·         Jaiden Terry, Lacrosse, Tsal’alh First Nation

·         Aedan Crocker, Road & Track Cycling, Penelakut Tribe

·         Nicola Smith, Rugby, Peguis First Nation

With the expansion of the BC Games Society’s Indigenous Participation Program, more and more Indigenous athletes will get the opportunity to compete in the Games and be recognized by awards like this one.

“It is so important to gather our communities to celebrate our youth athletes and their successes. The Premier’s Awards recognize young leaders who are giving back to their sport and communities in a big way,” said Ken Edzerza, Northeast Regional Lead for I·SPARC.

The recipients were selected out of 130 nominees from across BC who qualified as Indigenous athletes less than 25 years of age. The selection criteria include sport achievements leading towards podium placements at provincial, national and international competitions; leadership qualities such as coachability, strong work ethic and demonstrating fair play both on and off the field; a commitment to academic studies and continued education; cultural awareness, pride in Indigenous ancestry and cultural activism; and demonstrating how their experience in sport is shaping their future.

“It is a true honour to be selected with all of these amazing student athletes,” said Tessa Sturgeon, 2019 Northeast Regional Premier’s Awards Recipient and BC alumnus. “We will continue to represent all of the values of the Premier’s Awards in our communities and in our sport.”

The 36 recipients automatically serve as nominees for the Provincial Awards which will be selected in early 2020. For more information on the Premier’s Awards please visit: https://isparc.ca/grants-recognition/premiersawards/.


Number of views (1760)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker