Six BC Games Alumni honoured with Athlete of the Year Awards

Six BC Games Alumni honoured with Athlete of the Year Awards

Author: BC Games Society/Thursday, March 6, 2014/Categories: 2014 News, Sport System, Alumni

Rate this article:
No rating
The annual Athlete of the Year awards honour the best sport performances and contributions from British Columbians in 18 different categories.  The Awards are organized and hosted by Sport BC on behalf of the B.C. sport community.  

15 BC Games alumni were chosen as finalists for the awards with six taking home top honours.  

Athlete with a Disability
Michelle Stilwell, Wheelchair Athletics (2004 & 2006 BC Winter Games)

Female High School Athlete of the Year
Asianna Covington, Athletics, (2010 BC Summer Games)

Junior Female Athlete of the Year
Georgia Ellenwood, Athletics (2010 BC Summer Games)

Junior Male Athlete of the Year
Kevin Kwon, Golf, (2010 BC Summer Games)

University Athlete of the Year
Shanice Marcelle, Volleyball, (2004 BC Summer Games)

Female Coach of the Year
Jen Ross, Rugby, (2010 & 2012 BC Summer Games)

The BC Games Society sponsored the Darryl Thompson Award which honours an individual who has made a lifetime contribution to sport.  Bev Boys was chosen as the recipient of the award for her dedication to the sport of Diving as an athlete, coach, official, and administrator.  Bev has been an integral part of Dive BC’s participation in the BC Games since 2008.

As part of the Athlete of the Year Awards, B.C. sport organizations have the opportunity to recognize outstanding contributors with a Presidents Awards.  The BC Games Society was pleased to recognize Ali Buchanan with Horse Council BC for his exceptional work as the Provincial Advisor for equestrian for the BC Summer Games.

The BC Games is an important milestone in the development of athletes, coaches and officials and contributes to building the capacity of the provincial sport system.  “It is a great source of pride to see athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers, and organizations who are connected to the BC Games recognized for their significant accomplishments.” said Kelly Mann, President and CEO of the BC Games Society.

Visit for a list of all of the Athlete of the Year Award winners.


Number of views (3936)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker