Olympians named to BC Games Society Board

Olympians named to BC Games Society Board

Author: BC Games Society/Wednesday, April 23, 2014/Categories: 2014 News

Rate this article:
No rating
Victoria – Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development, Coralee Oakes, announced today the appointment of new members to the BC Games Society Board of Directors including Olympians Simon Whitfield (Triathlon) and Dave Calder (Rowing), as well as Provincial Sport Organization leader Rochelle Winterton of Vancouver, and Terrace based marketing and communications expert Sarah Zimmerman.

“These individuals bring a wealth of skill and experience to the table and I know that the BC Games Society—not to mention B.C.’s young emerging athletes—will benefit from their efforts,” said Minister Oakes. “Serving as a board member takes time and dedication, and I want to thank all of these talented people for making the commitment to our sport community.”

Simon Whitfield and Dave Calder have been synonymous with elite sport in Canada.  Both have had tremendous international success and won Olympic medals in their respective sports but, they have also translated that success into important leadership roles in sport and philanthropic endeavours.  

“It is an honour to join the board of the BC Games Society and be part of an organization that provides such a valuable experience for our young athletes and has helped launch the careers of many of my fellow Olympians and Paralympians,” said Whitfield.

Rochelle Winterton is the Executive Director for the BC Lacrosse Association and a proven leader in the amateur sport sector.  She is joined by marketing and communications professional Sarah Zimmerman of Terrace who was previously a Director for the 2010 BC Winter Games held in her community.

Byron McCorkell, City of Kamloops Director of Parks, Recreation and Cultural Services, has served on the board since 2011 and now moves into the role of Chair replacing outgoing Chair, Cathy Priestner Allinger.  Also named to the board is Chris Graham who will sit as an ex-officio representative of the Ministry of Community, Sport and Cultural Development.

“The members of this board have extensive expertise which will help guide the BC Games Society and ensure the organization continues to be a leader in sport and community development,” said Kelly Mann, President and CEO of the BC Games Society.  

The BC Games Society is the leadership organization that guides the BC Winter and BC Summer Games and prepares Team BC for national multi-sport Games.  The Ministerial appointed 13-member board is responsible for setting policy and direction to ensure the objectives of the Society are met.


A backgrounder follows.

Lia Threlfall
Communications Manager
BC Games Society

BC Games Society Board of Directors

Byron McCorkell, Chair, Kamloops
Susan Archibald, North Vancouver
Sue Bock, Trail
Kjeld Brodsgaard, Victoria
Dave Calder, Victoria
Jamie Choi, Vancouver
Moira Gookstetter, Tsawwassen
Chris Graham, Victoria
Wade Loukes, Prince George
Donna Mihalcheon, Vernon
Simon Whitfield, Victoria
Rochelle Winterton, Vancouver
Sarah Zimmerman, Terrace

For board member biographies please click here.

Number of views (2847)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker