BC Athletics recognizes BC Games alumni

BC Athletics recognizes BC Games alumni

Author: BC Games Society/Tuesday, December 4, 2012/Categories: 2012 News, Alumni

Rate this article:
No rating

BC Athletics has had a strong connection to the BC Summer Games since the inception of the Games in 1978.  The BC Summer Games have been an important training ground for thousands of track and field athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers. 

At the 2012 BC Athletics Awards Banquet, each of the 10 Track and Field Athlete of the Year winners are BC Games alumni.  This includes four Olympians recognized in the Senor Athlete of the Year category.

Youth Athlete of the Year

Georgia Ellenwood (Langley) - 2010 BC Summer Games & W.R. Bennett Award Winner
Rostam Turner (Kelowna) – 2010 BC Summer Games
Aaron Stroda (Kelowna) – 2010 BC Summer Games

Junior Athlete of the Year

Samantha Kennedy (Surrey) – 2008 BC Summer Games
Adam Keenan (Kamloops) – 2008 BC Summer Games
Benjamin Thorne (Kitimat) – 2008 BC Summer Games

Senior Athlete of the Year

Jessica Smith (North Vancouver) – 2004 BC Summer Games
Dylan Armstrong (Kamloops) – 1995 and 1996 BC Summer Games
Cameron Levins (Black Creek) – 2004 BC Summer Games
Michael Mason (Nanoose Bay) – 2000 BC Summer Games

In the Road Running category Joel Deschiffart (2008 BC Summer Games) and Samuel Pawluk (2000 BC Summer Games) were recognized as Junior and Senior Male Athletes of the Year respectively.

Kala Stone (2010 BC Summer Games) and Luc Bruchet (2006 BC Summer Games) were recognized in the Cross Country Runner of the Year category.

In addition to the athlete awards, four BC Games volunteers were honoured for their contributions.

Jessie Dosanjh was awarded the 2012 Executive of the Year for his role as the Sport Chair for the 2012 BC Summer Games. 

Dawn Copping with the NorWesters Track and Field Club was awarded the 2012 Jane Swan Award for long-term volunteer service.  Dawn has served as the Vancouver-Squamish (Zone 5) Zone Representative since 1995 and has attended 11 Games. 

Vince Sequeira attended the 2012 BC Summer Games as an official and was awareded the Mary Temple Award for Novice Official of the Year.

Finally, Erin Bell, an assistant coach at the 2012 BC Summer Games, was recognized with the Dave Coupland Inspirational Award.

The BC Games Society congratulates BC Athletics and all nominees and award winners on an outstanding 2012 season.

See the full list of nominees and award winners at www.bcathletics.org


Number of views (4747)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker