Alumni honoured at Athlete of the Year Awards

Alumni honoured at Athlete of the Year Awards

Author: BC Games Society/Friday, March 11, 2016/Categories: 2016 News, Alumni

Rate this article:
No rating
The BC sport sector gathered at the Vancouver Convention Centre on March 10 to recognize the athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers, and sport administrators in 18 award categories at the Athlete of the Year Awards.

The Athlete of the Year Awards, founded by Sport BC, are the longest running sport awards ceremony in Canada and this year celebrated the 50th annual event bringing a tradition of honouring the best of the best of sport in BC.  

Recipients are determined by a Selection Committee of individuals from the media and sport sectors in BC.  The committee is chaired by Bernie Pascall.

Among the finalists are many whose paths to their tremendous careers in sport brought them to the BC Games or Team BC as athletes, coaches, and officials. There were 26 alumni chosen as finalists with 12 of those bringing home top honours as award winners

BC Games and Team BC alumni chosen as award recipients:

Athlete with a Disability Award
Trevor Hirschfield (Vancouver), Wheelchair Rugby, 2002 BC Summer Games

Female High School Athlete of the Year
Emma Johnson (Kelowna), Basketball/Soccer/Volleyball, 2008 BC Summer Games

Female Junior Athlete of the Year
Emily Overholt, (West Vancouver), Swimming, 2010 BC Summer Games, Team BC 2013 Canada Summer Games

Male Junior Athlete of the Year
Markus Thormeyer (Delta), Swimming, Team BC 2013 Canada Summer Games

*Emily and Markus pictured together above

Male Coach of the Year
Randy Bennett (Victoria), Swimming, Team BC 1997 Canada Summer Games

Female Coach of the Year
Carolyn Murray (Victoria), Triathlon, Team BC 2011 Western Canada Summer Games

Official of the Year
Michelle Pye (North Vancouver), Soccer, 2000 BC Summer Games

Master Athlete of the Year
Siew Har Hong (North Vancouver), Badminton, 1992 and 2000 BC Winter Games

Female Senior Athlete of the Year
Christabel Netty (Surrey), Athletics, 2006 BC Summer Games

Male Senior Athlete of the Year
Denny Morrison (Fort St. John), Speed-Skating, 2000 BC Winter Games

Best of BC Award
Carey Price (Anahim Lake), Hockey, 2002 BC Winter Games

Long-time Volleyball BC official and volunteer, Hugh Wong (Kelowna), was presented with the Daryl Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award.  Wong attended the BC Summer Games as an official from 1991-1994 and the BC Games Society was pleased to present this award as the category sponsor.

The BC Games Society also recognized Michelle and Gary Ricks from Cranbrook as its President's Award recipients.  The President's Awards are presented to volunteers from Sport BC member and partner organizations who represent the spirit of volunteerism, and whose dedication, energy and commitment contribute to development of their sport or organization in the province of British Columbia.  Michelle and Gary act as the Provincial Advisors to the BC Winter Games for Gymnastics BC.


Kelly Mann, President and CEO of the BC Games Society with Presidents Award Recipients Michelle and Gary Ricks

Susan Archibald, Board Member of the BC Games Society presenting the Daryl Thompson Award to Hugh Wong.

Number of views (4835)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker