Sport Contacts
Head Office
BC Diving Association
(604) 531-5576

Sport Specific Information


Sport Specific and Technical Information will be posted here as it is available starting in early 2019.


Created with flickr slideshow.

The sport of diving developed from gymnastics rather than swimming when gymnasts in Europe practiced their landings in water rather than on hard floors.  The earliest recorded diving competition took place in 1871 off the London Bridge.  Diving has been an Olympic event for men since 1904 and for women since 1912.  The first concrete diving tower was built at Swimming Stadium Tourelles for the 1924 Paris Olympics.

Diving Facts

  • 1871 – first diving competition off London Bridge
  • Standing or walking starts
  • 7 judges score dives out of 10 points
  • Rip entry – little or no splash

There are three major components to diving.  The first is the starting position, approach, and take off.  The judges look for this to be smooth and well-balanced, with a high jump off the board and a minimal distance from the board.  The second is execution in the air where judges look for speed of rotation and proper positioning.  Finally, the entry in to the water is judged on the angle of entry (should be vertical), distance from the board, body, head and arm alignment, and the amount of splash.  A panel of judges for an individual contest consists of seven judges, while a synchronized event is assessed by nine judges.  The best dives can be distinguished based on four characteristics: strength and power, economy of movement, tight positions and good body line, and precision.

The Diving competition at the BC Games has traditionally been held during the BC Summer Games but was moved to the BC Winter Games in 2014.  The athletes are 12-15 years old and will compete in one meter and three meter spring board events. 

The BC Diving Association is the organization responsible for developing the sport in the province. 

Notable BC Games alumni include Riley McCormick (2002 BC Summer Games) who is a two-time Olympian (2008 and 2012).